New espresso flavour in ‘touch ink’ cans from Coca-Cola

Coca-Cola European Partners (CCEP) is expanding its Espresso Monster range with the launch in the UK of a new flavour – Espresso Salted Caramel – in a premium ‘touch ink’ black 250ml can.

This third flavour of ready-to-drink (RTD) espresso products follows on from the nationwide introduction of the first two products in the Espresso Monster range earlier this year, Espresso & Milk and Vanilla Espresso.

Espresso Salted Caramel is designed to appeal to coffee drinkers and energy drink lovers alike, said CCEP, and will be rolled out nationwide at the end of this month (November).

The Espresso Monster brand will also expand into the independent channel from the New Year, with a £1.99 (US$2.56) price-marked pack option. CCEP estimates the RTD coffee sector in the UK is currently worth £139m ($179m) and is growing at 32 per cent a year.

“The Espresso Monster range has been well received by consumers over the last year and is now worth £5.5m [$7m],” said Simon Harrison, vice president, commercial development at CCEP GB. “The range delivers a real point of difference for retailers, combining the functionality of an energy drink with cold coffee, two soft drink segments that are delivering strong growth in GB.”

In July 2019, The Coca-Cola Company, which has an arrangement with the Monster Beverage Corporation of the US to sell Monster products, won a ruling from the American Arbitration Association that it could continue to sell its own range of Coca-Cola Energy drinks.

Monster had claimed that the launch of Coca-Cola Energy was in breach of its 2015 agreement with the beverage giant. However, according to the American Arbitration Association, Coca-Cola Energy products fall within an exception to a non-compete provision relating to beverages marketed or positioned under the Coca-Cola brand.

CCEP is the world’s largest independent Coca-Cola bottler and is the sole licensed bottler for products of The Coca-Cola Company (TCCC) in Andorra, Belgium, France, Germany, Great Britain, Iceland, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain and Sweden.